top of page

The Royalist Army

The Royalist Army is organised into five infantry tercios and a cavalry regiment. Each tercio consists of several regiments of foot. The army is commmanded by the Lord General - appointed by the King to command his field army. On field you will see the army command - the Lord General and his staff - send commands via runners to each tercio commander who order their troops accordingly. On occasion King Charles I commanded the army himself and at some re-enactments you may see the Royal Standard indicating the King is present. The following list shows the Regiments in each tercio.


The Oxford Army


The King's Brigade


The King's Lifeguard of Foote

Hastings Artillery Company

Sir Richard Molyneux's Company of Foote


Jacob Astley's Tertio


Col Richard Bagot's Regt of Foote

Sir Henry Bard's Regt of Foote

Col Sir John Owen's Company

Prince Maurice's Regt of Dragoones


Prince Rupert's Brigade


Prince Rupert's Blew Regt of Foote

Earl Rivers Regiment of Foote

Sir Henry Vaughan's Company


Lord Hopton's Tertio


Sir Vincent Corbet's Coy

Sir William Godolphins Regt of Foote

Sir Bevill Grenvile's Regt of Foote

Col Stephen Hawkins' Regt of Foote

Sir Marmaduke Rawdon's Regt of Foote

Sir Nicholas Slanning's Regt of Foote

Col Henry Tilliers Regt of Foote



The Marquess of Newcastle's Northern Army


Col Charles Gerards Regt of Foote

Sir Gilbert Hoghton's Coy

Sir George Lisles Regt of Foote

The Marquess of Newcastle's Regt of Foote

Sir Thomas Glemham's Regt of Foote

The Earl of Northampton's Regt of Foote




Prince Rupert's Lifeguard of Horse


bottom of page